Blog entries / Endangered Species / Partnerships

The newest visitors hopped over to Stonyfield Yogurt

DID YOU KNOW?Photo from Great Bay refuge
The New England cottontail has become so rare that it’s a candidate for protection under the Endangered Species Act. It’s different than the non-native eastern cottontails that people brought to New England for hunting years ago, and that you commonly see on roadsides and in gardens. A huge team, including our agency, is out to save it. Learn more.

Today you’re hearing from Jenna Bourne, lover of the outdoors and coordinator of Stonyfield’s natural resources projects.

“It’s right there, see it?”

“No.” I reply as I move a thorny branch to the side and squint my eyes and closely examine the leaf-littered ground. This was the fifth or sixth time one of the wildlife biologists had pointed out a cluster of small brown pellets right under my nose. I just couldn’t seem to find them until someone literally had their finger right on it.

“Oh, yes. Now I see them.” The round pellets suddenly came into view and I could clearly see that they looked very similar to the rabbit scat I remember from my childhood bunny. So what am I doing tromping around outside looking for rabbit scat? Well, I’m actually looking for rabbits – New England cottontail rabbits to be exact – but this might be as close as I get as they are very rare and quite good at hiding among the leaf-littered December ground. …Read the rest at the Stonyfield blog!

One thought on “The newest visitors hopped over to Stonyfield Yogurt

  1. Pingback: Celebrating Earth Day with a rare rabbit | U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region

Leave a Reply

