I serve for you!

A woman with long reddish hair and a blue U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service emblem holds a sign saying " I serve to conserve natural resources to benefit the public!"

Today we hear from Wendi Weber, Regional Director for the Northeast Region of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, reflecting on this year’s theme of Public Service Recognition Week; “Why I Serve.”

A woman with long reddish hair and a blue U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service emblem holds a sign saying " I serve to conserve natural resources to benefit the public!"

Northeast Regional Director Wendi Weber. Credit: Keith Shannon/USFWS

When I think about why I serve, I go back to when I was a pre-med student in college and had my first field job working on Cumberland Island in Georgia doing sea turtle research. Night after night under the stars with just the turtles, I realized that this is what I loved. I realized that you could feel a passion in your heart that makes you well up in tears. I realized that this is what I wanted to do for the rest of my life – to conserve fish and wildlife for the public.

I went back to school, changed my major, and here I am today. At the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, we have an awesome opportunity and responsibility to protect the environment, not only for today, but for generations to come.

Click here for a photo album of why employees of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region serve!

When I first began my public service career, it was for the species. But as I’ve grown up in the Fish and Wildlife Service, my reason for serving has evolved. Now, it’s primarily all about the people. I work with some of the best people in the whole wide world! In my role, I help them do their jobs to fulfill the Service’s mission.

Each and every day I have the chance to do this, so each and every day I feel a sense of accomplishment. And even though my work as a public servant is different than it was when I began, each and every day I still feel the same sense of wonder and joy I felt on those starry nights at Cumberland Island.

That is why I serve.

A man holds a sign "Why we Serve . . . so the fish and mussels can be heard!" while a woman cranes her ear.

Wendi Weber helps employees such as Gale Heffinger and Melanie Carter fulfill the mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Credit: USFWS

The mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is working with others to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.

Leave a Reply

