Veazie Dam: There and gone…

It’s been some time since we checked in with Steve Shepard at Veazie Dam on Maine’s Penobscot River. Steve is in our Maine Field Office, and he’s put together this great slideshow.

The last of the major impediments to a free-flowing river at Veazie are under removal! The dam was breached back in July.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“I’ve had the pleasure of working on the Penobscot River on and off for more than two decades, conducting fish passage research and working on the licensing of the dams,” he says. “I’ve tagged and chased many salmon, enjoyed my nights studying eels, seen dense schools of adult and juvenile alewife, Tim and I had otters bumping into our boots, and of course, I’ve spent countless hours in Penobscot meetings. The Penobscot is a special place. I’ve lived most of my life in this watershed and I look forward to the changes that will be realized as a result of the removal of these dams.”

Follow the Penobscot River Restoration Trust for updates and great photos!

Leave a Reply

