Meet #ScienceWoman Beth Freiday

Beth Freiday Branded

Our #ScienceWoman campaign kicked off during Women’s History Month, and we’re going to keep on rolling! We’re looking forward by honoring women across the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and female conservationists who are making history in our agency and in conservation. With each #ScienceWoman, we’ll share a photo and a couple questions and answers about her work. Stay tuned for more posts later this week honoring Hurricane Sandy Women in Science.

Meet science woman Beth Freiday. She’s a Fish and Wildlife Biologist at our New Jersey Field Office. At Clemson University and the University of Kentucky, she studied the effects of elk restoration on breeding bird communities in Eastern Kentucky.

Beth credits a mentor in grad school as one of her conservation heroes. Says Beth, “she helped me see that doing great work doesn’t mean you have to work around the clock. If you work hard while you are at work, you have time to play hard at home.”

Beth_cropped

Q. How did you get interested in conservation? A. I became interested in conservation at a very early age. We lived in a city and I only had domestic pets as my inspiration, but as soon as I grew up and moved out of the city I discovered that my pets were just a placeholder until I discovered my true love for wildlife. I am most intrigued by bird ecology (yes, I am one of those geeks who knows all of the bird’s songs). With over 10,000 species of birds in the world to learn about, how could anyone ever get bored with a career in wildlife management?

Q. What’s your favorite species and why? A. My favorite species is the brown pelican. I grew up in Florida and, as a child, my family rescued a brown pelican that was caught in fishing line. That one bird opened up a whole world of birds that I didn’t know existed until that day. Pelicans are so graceful in flight and entertaining to watch feed.

CiuzioClarke_GumbySuit_Feb2013

See more #ScienceWoman profiles.

2 Comments on “Meet #ScienceWoman Beth Freiday

  1. Pingback: Science Women Building a Stronger Atlantic Coast | U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region

Leave a Reply

