Our region. The Northeast Region covers 13 states from Maine to Virginia. Home not only to nearly a quarter of the nation’s population, our region also supports almost 100 threatened and endangered animals and plants across the Appalachian Mountains, Chesapeake Bay, Great Lakes and other landscapes. Nearly 535,000 acres are protected in 72 national wildlife refuges, and 12 national fish hatcheries raise freshwater mussels and fish for our waters. Visit the official Northeast Region website.

Our mission. The mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is working with others to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.

Across the Northeast, we support partners and projects using expertise in research, habitat restoration and protection, wildlife conservation, contaminant assessment and remediation, wetlands inventory, wind energy, project planning and other disciplines.

We protect land on wildlife refuges and provide for more than 6 million annual visitors to enjoy compatible recreational and learning opportunities, such as hunting, fishing, wildlife observation, photography, environmental education and interpretation.

We also provide funds to support state fish and wildlife programs and enforces federal laws protecting wildlife.


3 thoughts on “ABOUT

    1. usfwsnortheastblog Post author

      Hi Matt! Thanks for letting us know about the post. They noted that the story is from our blog, so we are happy to see that it could get more readership there! Thanks again for keeping an eye out.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s