Baltimore Urban Conservation & Education interns released into the wild!

From left to right we have Logan Kline, Sarah Carpe, Sheldon Mason and Adler (AJ) Pruitt

Today’s blog comes to you from Curtis Bennett from the National Aquarium in Baltimore, Maryland

My name is Curtis Bennett and I am a Project Manager within the Conservation Department at the National Aquarium.  On behalf of the Steering Committee for the Urban Conservation & Education Internships Program, I would like to extend a warm welcome to our 2016 interns!  On June 6th these four college students from the Greater Baltimore area are going to begin an eight week journey, learning from local experts and accumulating many new experiences along the way, all in an effort to paint a clear picture of career opportunities within the conservation sector.

Over the past couple months, these four students have been patiently awaiting the start of program and here’s what each student is looking forward to the most:

From left to right we have Logan Kline, Sarah Carpe, Sheldon Mason and Adler (AJ) Pruitt

From left to right: Logan Kline, Sarah Carpe, Sheldon Mason and Adler (AJ) Pruitt

Logan Kline, University of Maryland College Park Environmental Science and Policy Major

“I am most excited about applying my passion in a city I’ve grown up visiting. I love environmental education and this is my first chance to really test out the waters in what I hope to dedicate my career to!”

Sarah Carpe, Baltimore City Community College Biology Major

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, it’s not going to get better, it’s not, small acts of compassion carried out by the millions can change the world.” “I’m definitely excited about how far I can make my impact stretch with this program. It could certainly be exponential in size.”

Sheldon Mason, Community College of Baltimore County Biology Major

“I am probably the most excited about getting out there and participating in conservation related projects like habitat restoration, I am also excited to have the opportunity to be working with organizations that I haven’t worked with before like the U.S Fish and Wildlife Service.”

A.J. Pruitt, University of Maryland College Park Government and Politics Major

“I am looking forward to participating in the 2016 Urban Conservation and Education Internship Program in order to increase my knowledge of the surrounding ecosystem and become a better steward of the local environment. I have been impressed with the work of the Maryland Port Administration, Living Classrooms Foundation, the National Aquarium, and US Fish and Wildlife Service in the past, and am excited to learn more about, and work with, each organization this summer.”

Please stay tuned and follow our four interns as they share their experiences over the course of this program!

3 Comments on “Baltimore Urban Conservation & Education interns released into the wild!

  1. Pingback: Urban Surveys: Get involved with Nature | U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region

  2. Pingback: Learning By Doing: The Value of Environmental Education | U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region

  3. Pingback: Conservation from an (unlikely?) source | U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region

Leave a Reply

